Ricotta Cheesecake…….not to be forgotten

Although I have cooked with passion most of my life I had never found pleasure in baking. My mom baked, my sister not a passionate cook; but she has much passion in baking. Oh! Her Pecan Balls or Stromboli……… yummy!

Perhaps the success of my Apple Pie was the beginning, or my absolute favorite(until now) Blueberry Cobbler……..coming soon!

Constant mention of Ricotta Cheesecake; and comparisons at various restaurants to a childhood favorite, Tripoli’ Cheesecake. It was early fall  and I knew it was time for a new creation/development , whichever. A close friend had the ingredients to the cheesecake; though not the recipe. So I surfed the web coming up with 27 different versions. One ingredient in particular took to my fancy ‘rosewater”, back on the net googling rosewater. Funny how instantly I recognized the name, more so the familiarity of the bottle. Thank you Corrado’s..

Sad but true even the old-style European recipes excluded rosewater; but, in learning of its use I decided it was an important factor to the recipe.

Much improvising and combining of various versions this is my recipes which I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients

3  lbs Ricotta Cheese

7   large eggs separated

1/2 cup heavy cream

dash of vanilla

dash of cinnamon

2 ounces rosewater

1/2 cup grahm cracker crumbs

butter to grease pan

spray shortening

2 large lemons zest only fine grated

2 large oranges zest only fine grated

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup golden raisins soaked in dark rum for 4 – 5 hours

1/2 cup pine nuts

Place ricotta in covered cheesecloth and sit in a colander to drain. The ricotta should drain for 24 hours prior. To prepare the cheese for draining …sprinkle with rosewater and sit colander in a bowl, cover and refrigerate overnite. Discarding liquid.

Prepare a 12 inch springpan for the cheesecake rubbing with a good amount of butter, add grham craker crumb; I roll these almost to powder, a quick spray of shortening and a dash of cinnamon and coat again repeating 3 times. Nice!

Preheat oven to 425*

In a large bowl combine egg yolk, sugar, salt,vanilla & zest..wisk for 3 minutes, drain raisins add pine nuts using a mixing wand; mix nuts and raisins 30 seconds. Add to egg yolk mixture and beat for 2 minutes by hand, slowly adding  ricotta cheese and heavy cream stirring in by hand until thoroughly combined.

In a shallow bowl whip egg whites til they peak, I do 3 sessions of whipping, each time folding them into the ricotta mixture.

Pour mixture into prepared springpan and place in warm oven for 10 minutes; reduce oven temperature 375* and bake for 1 hour.

The first time I attempted to make the recipe it seemed I had enough mixture for 2 pies; when I shared the thought, I was told be happy to get one right……..at that instant all of the mixture was in and I had the glorious moment of licking the spatula……… so enthuzed with the taste I shared the last drop……. shortly before dinner ended; unexpected guest arrived; inquiring on thier appetite, I should not have been surprised they recieved a phone call to stop by for my Ricotta Cheesecake ……”He said You did It!’ 

Notice there were no options in this recipe…….. I am happy with each step especially the shell!  Of course you can choose to make changes personally I wouldn”t change a thing!

Please add your  E-mail Address and subscribe to this blog! 

 

 

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

2 responses to “Ricotta Cheesecake…….not to be forgotten

  1. Very informative blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Awesome.

  2. Rose Ann D'Angelo

    Riccota cheesecake ! The recipe sounds yummy. I am crazy for cheesecake.!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

