Apple Pie

Apple Pie

When I think back to when my little girl was ready for table food; an incident which helped my culinary skills will never be forgotten. A news alert broadcast; glass was found in baby food jars. I did breast feed so why not continue naturally? I began cooking pounds of carrots and other veggies chopping them for the blender, Wa La!  baby food. As she grew I began to familiarize myself with spices and herbs which enhanced flavor to specific food. On the day I steamed apples the aroma was overwhelming. I had always cooked with passion; baking was left to my Mom. That was until my first apple pie.

Let me specify again there are choices, crumb topping, icing….. I do it all!

Needed

2    pie crusts( in a pinch ready-made)

3   golden apples

3   gala apples

3   granny smiths

3   fuji apples 

1/2 cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar(dark or light)

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

5 drops lemon juice 

1/4 tsp salt

3 tbsp butterApple Pie

Pre-heat oven to 425*

Add ingredients to a large mixing bowl, when cutting apples I always cut them horizontally; I find they cook evenly and are a better size. Slice top and bottom peel, quarter remove core and slice.

Arrange bottom pie crust loosely. Should you be using a ready-made crust; slightly roll it out to overlay the pie dish. The butter is added to the top; cut in small pieces and distributed.

Cover with top pie crust. Make a 1 inch hole in the center, cut 4 – 5 slits, and pinch small dot cuts in between the slits. The cutting is for the pie to breath. Which ever method works in closing the crust at the edge ………… Sometimes I bring the bottom over the top crust and press, or vice versa.

Crumb Topping

1/2 cup Bisquick

1/2 cup brown sugar

dash of cinnamon

Mix in a small bowl and carefully lay over the top. I do this in the kitchen sink, cupping one hand at the edge and lightly patting into crust.

Place pie in oven for 10 minutes 

Lower oven temp to 350* and bake for a remaining 35 minutes or until a toothpick easily goes thru apples. I center the oven rack, normally I would bake in an upper rack, but the topping will burn….Ooopps!

Icing

3/4 cup  confection sugar

dash of lemon juice (or vanilla extract)

splash of water
Please cool the pie before icing. Slowly drizzle over the top.

 Hope you enjoy this as much as my family and guests!

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

2 responses to “Apple Pie

  1. Carol Ann Costanzo-Bsarany

    Beautiful recipe.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

