Sprouts & Cabbage

Sprouts & Cabbage

This is another family holiday favorite, my Dad was a cabbage & brussels sprout lover; we enjoyed brussels sprouts as a side dish. When preparing ribs and cabbage one evening I decided to add brussels sprouts to the cabbage. Hence the following Thanksgiving when I prepared the sprouts I added cabbage. To flavor the veggies; I used chicken stock with bacon as a base.

Ingredients

4 – 5 lbs brussels sprouts

1 head cabbage

5  slices bacon (or bacon bits 2 tbsp)

1 cup chicken stock

1/2 cup apple sauce

Sprouts & cabbage

Cook sprouts in water til fork goes through easily; cool and cut sprouts in half, set aside.  In a large saucepan fry bacon add shredded cabbage and stock. Season with salt &  pepper.  Cover and saute on medium flame until cabbage is translucent..15 -20 minutes.

Layer oven pan with cabbage and sprouts. Add apple sauce and mix.Veggies can be stored in refrigerator; heated and served with your holiday meal.

I sometimes add breadcrumbs to the topping; prior to reheating, this is optional.

Happy Holiday!

 

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

15 responses to “Sprouts & Cabbage

  1. franne

    do you drain the bacon drippings before adding other ingredients. and do you add salt to the brussel sprouts when cookin?

  2. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  3. I’m honored to receive a call coming from a friend when he discovered the important ideas shared on your site. Looking at your blog posting is a real fantastic experience. Many thanks for taking readers like me into consideration, and I wish you the best of achievements for a professional topic.

  4. Thank you for the following fascinating post. I will look for ones webpage frequently at this time. I am considering the following issue given that ages plus you could have beneficial information.

  5. Thank you for the following fascinating post. I will look for ones webpage frequently at this time. I am considering the following issue given that ages plus you could have beneficial information.

  6. Obviously, such a magnificent blog along with lighting up articles, saying thanks definitely will not simply be enough, for the wonderful clarity in your writing. Thanks for your efforts and consideration of other individuals by making this blog available.

  7. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumb up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.20 Thanks for a concept, you sparked at thought from a angle I hadn’t given thought to yet. Now let’s see if I can do one thing with it.

  8. Excellent article. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Naturally I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  9. As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  10. I would like to thanks for the time you have contributed in composing this blog. I am hoping the same top-grade blog post from you in the future as well.

  11. Magnificent goods from you, man. Sprouts & Cabbage tastemedrinkme.com I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too wonderful. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful Sprouts & Cabbage tastemedrinkme.com informations.

  12. Fantastic goods from you, man. Sprouts & Cabbage tastemedrinkme.com I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely fantastic. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is actually a wonderful Sprouts & Cabbage tastemedrinkme.com informations.

  13. Excellent goods from you, man. Sprouts & Cabbage tastemedrinkme.com I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely excellent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a great Sprouts & Cabbage tastemedrinkme.com informations.

  14. An absorbing communicating is worth report. I conceive that you should correspond much on this content, it mightiness not be a sacred soul but mostly grouping are not enough to utter on such topics. To the succeeding. Cheers like your Sprouts & Cabbage tastemedrinkme.com.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

