Next Sunday Gravy

Next Sunday .. Gravy

I’m hoping most of you have already followed my post “Sunday Gravy”. As stated in the post I usually have 3 – 4 containers left which I freeze. I never mix the gravy with pasta in a huge serving bowl before serving; not, if I want leftover. The pasta sucks up most of it; and I also believe much is wasted.  My table is set with a dinner and salad plate; pasta bowls remain at hand by the stove and I individually serve gravy on top of each pasta dish; you would be surprised at how much gravy is left. The following Sunday I use one container which is equivalent to a can of tomato puree or crushed tomato(28 oz) removing the container from the freezer early in the day.

Needed

1  container frozen gravy

1  28 can puree or crushed tomato(your choice)

1  can tomato paste

1/4 cup olive oil

3  garlic cloves

fresh basil

Prep time   15 – 20 minutes

If you plan to make meatballs, sausage or any side dish of meat; fry the meat in a large pan with garlic and oil. Using the same pan add a little more olive oil and fry the paste. Gravy without meat, heat olive oil with garlic in the gravy pot, add the tomato paste fry til oil dissipates. Add puree or crushed tomato and additional salt & pepper to taste. Next add defrosted gravy and add 1/2 cup of water. Garnish the top with fresh basil; simmer for at least an hour.

Leftover gravy is great to keep on hand for Parmigiano dishes, stuffed peppers Chile and various dishes. Perhaps you are serving Ravioli or Tortellini with a garden salad. While I’m away or in another state I always have gravy in the freezer. One time or another a family member or friend checking on our home will happily help themselves to a container from the freezer, I’m complimented my gravy is in demand and enjoyed; and especially not wasted. If cooking for two; you can probably get another container back, economical as well. I hope you find this recipe helpful and like me come the holiday; there is plenty of gravy for the “Lasanga!”

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

2 responses to “Next Sunday Gravy

  1. Roseanne liquori

    Love it!

  2. pokies
    ??? ?’ ?’?????=(•??)=e/????/’?’? ? this is a stick-up… give me ALL yo [_¯$_¯(_¯1_¯)_¯$_¯]!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

