Gracie’s Chicken Soup

Gracie's Chicken Soup

With the cool months ahead we can all appreciate a hot bowl of soup. Chicken soup is a favorite of the family. This recipe was taught to me by a dear loved one greatly missed; each time I serve her chicken soup it can’t be helped but to reminisce sitting at her table with family and friends. I keep stock on hand in my freezer at all times for recipes requiring chicken stock and to add flavor to vegetable and pasta dishes.  A great after school dish for the children coming in from the cold, my grandchildren often request this soup on their own. We all know it’s the best medicine when battling the common cold. The prep time is easily done in 20 minutes and although I prefer to simmer the soup for hours; I remember Grace telling me once, ” Oh I can have it ready by the time you get here”!  That was after telling her Robert (her son) was chasing a cold. I hope you enjoy this recipe as our family has for years.

Needed

1/2 cup olive oil

1 small onion

6 – 8 chicken thighs

2 chicken breast

handful of fresh parsley

1 pk celery

1 pk carrots

8 oz can tomato sauce

salt & pepper to taste

1 container of chicken stock ( 26 oz)

10 cups water

In a large pot saute grated onion in olive oil and add chicken parts. Cut ends from celery stalk; peel carrots add to pot. I leave them whole to remove easily for straining. Season with a good amount of salt and pepper; add remaining ingredients. Bring to full boil and let simmer for at least an hour to 1  1/2 hours. Strain broth separating chicken and vegetables. The vegetables can be set on a serving plate in a warming tray. You will have ample stock  which you can transfer to containers for cooling.Remove skin from chicken parts when cooled. Place chicken in a smaller pot and cover with stock. This pot can simmer as you cook a pasta or rice for broth.

We like bow ties for serving; the vegetables and chicken served individually with a salad on the side after a bowl of soup. A hearty meal for the Winter months !

Usually I have four containers left to freeze; saving the last one to start-up a new pot. Should you be starting from scratch  a store-bought (26 oz) will do. The longer you simmer the more intense and rich a broth. Notice the tomato sauce adds just enough color to the broth; and the straining is easily completed with the vegetables left whole. I leave the parsley whole as well for easier removal; when my children were young they didn’t appreciate things  floating in the soup. Of course there are many options; rice instead of pasta, adding various vegetables and alternative herbs, but this is the most requested and enjoyed by my family & friends. Truly a rich and hearty chicken soup. Hope you enjoy this dish as well!

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

5 responses to “Gracie’s Chicken Soup

  1. Hey there I really like your website. I linked to your WordPress blog on my homepage about the PSP3000 so my website visitors will go to your WordPress blog too.

  2. Hey there I really like your articles. I linked to your website on my website about the PSP-3000 so my website visitors will check out your WordPress blog hopefully.

  3. After reading your blog post I browsed your website a bit and noticed you aren’t ranking nearly as well in Google as you could be. I possess a handful of blogs myself and I think you should take a look here: http://dominateseowithwordpress.com You’ll find it’s a very nice tool that can bring you a lot more visitors. Keep up the quality posts

  4. Spy On Your Competitors! Profit From Their Success! Register for a Lifetime Free Trial account to get more positive results in your search engine marketing http://keywordspyprox.com/

  5. I really like what you are saying, and am glad I found your website. Please keep it up.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

