Bats!

Something Missing

 

 As we approach Halloween; which is one of my favorite holidays, I am excited with anticipation the children, costumes  and mostly decorating! Looking at the picture from last year I realized something was missing; Bats! I thought to share this activity with you. Halloween was more intense when my children were younger; I had the opportunity to make their costumes.. Prize Winning, by the way. The anticipation and excitement were much like Christmas. Being a single mom at their beckoned call; gave me quality time with the little ones, moments I treasure and miss. Why the year I had asked my son what his choice of costume would be at the age of 13;  his reply was shocking … I’m not dressing up anymore!  Smiling I realized again he was making his own choices; not bad considering his choice those days; going to teen nite dancing and socializing..
So here I am far away in Nevada; each year slowly adding to the decorating. I realized there were no Bats!  I started making bats 30 years ago, when my daughter was a toddler…. we sat for an arts crafts time, the entire day simplifying and  perfecting Halloween Bats which hung from the outside trees. So many people complimented us on the effect. Depending on the winds each year, losing a few gave us the opportunity to have another project replenishing lost bats the following year..When my son was born in the fall a few years later; another fabulous idea..a baby bat! I will happily share  that costume later. 
 
Needed
1  black board sheet ( 4 bats)
black duck tape
thin wire
fishing thread

Lay out the sheet on a flat surface, visualizing 4 sections for ample room to make at least 4 bats per sheet. Cut & trim the bats; make an inverted section for feet and place a small piece (1/2″ x 1/2″) of  duck tape between the foot area. I remember trying to use the center area on my first attempt; a strong wind ripped them. Later I designed them to hang down and they held up well. In the center of the tape insert a small piece of wire (1 – 1/2 “) to use as an anchor. After pushing it thru bend the extended end  down to each opposite side for closure.  Fishing line slips thru easily and holds up well to the wind.

insert wire thru tape area

use the first one as a template

 A family fun activity, I look forward to decorating once again this Halloween with bats cascading from the trees..

 

Hope you enjoy this! The bat wings inspired me for my sons’ first costume which was basic. I designed a costume using a soft black fabric; choosing a sleeper as a pattern. The wings were made of cardboard covered with fabric which I adhered with spray adhesive. I inserted the wings from the  shoulder-blade area. This  was comfortable while in his carriage or carrier. He was seven weeks old; a little hoodie cap to which I added little pointed ears and a  strap under the chin..the fabric overlayed in the back and I used velcro for the closures. Velcro was new then and simplified the finish. 

 

hang with fishing line

Wishing all a safe and Happy Halloween!

 
 

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

31 responses to “Bats!

  1. Sal D

    You made the best costumes! What ever I wanted to ( you made it happen. Wait til you see my costume this year.

  2. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  3. You’re blogging has really come on when I look back over previous posts. Actually I arrived here from a forum on an unrelated topic. Worth surfing sometimes. Thanks.

  4. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  5. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  6. I was very pleased to seek out this internet-site.I wished to thanks on your time for this wonderful read!! I undoubtedly enjoying each little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to check out new stuff you weblog post.

  7. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  8. I would like to express my thanks to the writer just for bailing me out of this situation. As a result of exploring through the world-wide-web and meeting tricks which are not powerful, I figured my entire life was well over. Existing devoid of the answers to the problems you have sorted out as a result of your main blog post is a serious case, as well as the kind that might have in a negative way damaged my entire career if I had not encountered the website. Your own talents and kindness in taking care of every item was excellent. I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a stuff like this. I’m able to at this moment relish my future. Thanks for your time so much for this skilled and result oriented guide. I will not be reluctant to suggest your web sites to any individual who would need recommendations on this subject.

  9. I must say, youve got one with the very best blogs Ive noticed in a long time. What I wouldnt give to be capable of develop a weblog thats as interesting as this. I guess Ill just need to keep reading yours and hope that 1 day I can write on a subject with as much knowledge as youve got on this 1!

  10. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  11. I have already been exploring for a little for any high quality content on this kind of area . Searching in Search engines I at last found this web site. Reading this information So i’m happy to convey that I’ve a truly fantastic uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I wanted. I most definitely will make certain to don’t forget this web page and give it a look regularly.

  12. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So nice to search out any individual with some unique ideas on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this web site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a bit originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the web!

  13. Hiya my friend! I need to say that this write-up is great, nice written including approximately all important info. I’d like to view more articles like this. [url=http://forum.flightgear.pl/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1847&p=12119&sid=aeaedbfdf99277110680a9752712030d#p12119]Pozycjonowanie[/url]

  14. I like what you people are up also. Such clever job and reporting! Keep up the wonderful works guys I have incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll. In my opinion it’ll increase the value of my personal web-site :]

  15. Hey – good blog, looking about some blogs, appears a rather excellent platform you may be applying. Im at present using WordPress for a lot of of my web pages but aiming to alter one about to your platform a good deal like yours becoming a trial run. Something in specific it is best to advise regarding this?

  16. Cant wait to see future post

  17. Thanks for the writeup about this. Greatly appreciated.

  18. Who did you pay to do your website? Its really nicely designed I bet that is why you get so much traffic!

  19. I love the layout of your page. Obviously you have a very valid point, however I can’t get over how great the site design is.

  20. I love the post of your blog. Obviously you have a very valid point, however I can’t get over how great the site design is.

  21. Great info again! Thanks a lot;)

  22. Hey there and thank you for your info – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical points using this webpage, as I experienced to reload the internet site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been asking yourself if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, however sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in the search engines and could hurt your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this particular FEED to my electronic mail and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you up-date this again soon..

  23. Pleasant write-up. I was viewing constantly this web site and I am satisfied! Highly helpful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was searching this specific information for a long time. Many thanks and good luck.

  24. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff before and you are just extremely excellent. I truly enjoy exactly what you have acquired here, definitely like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is definitely a tremendous web page.

  25. I’ve already been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of place . Looking at in Yahoo I at last came across this webpage. Reading this information So i am happy to convey that I’ve an extremely fantastic uncanny feeling I came across exactly what I wanted. I most certainly will make certain to do not forget this site and give it a look on a constant basis.

  26. Wonderful write up, I’m standard visitor of one’s web page, maintain up the remarkable operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

