Meatballs Mima!

“Not Yet!”

Ingredients

3 lbs meatball mix (1 lb beef, 1 lb pork, 1 lb veal)

salt & pepper

3/4 c grated cheese

6 cut garlic cloves

handful cut fresh parsley

Wet bread 2-3 slices crumbled

1/2 c breadcrumbs(Italian Style)

9 eggs

I was fortunate to finally find a butcher in Nevada; thank you Karen! In New Jersey and Florida butchers are plentiful. Not the case here; previously I used store prepared beef and pork…. the packaged veal looked hideous. There are so many recipes for meatballs everyone’s Nana made great meatballs; however today with the times changing, not to many people are paying attention to the kitchen.
Ground beef pork & veal

I started cooking at a young age and stuck my nose in every available kitchen. Amazed at the various techniques especially for meatballs. Sorry to say I didn’t care for my Mom’s; for some reason she loaded onions and oregano with seasoned crumbs. Oh! That’s a Spicy Meatball………

I do enjoy raisins and Pinole nuts added (Sicilian style) however this recipe is my meatballs. I ‘m honored as I travel seasonally state to state(living in three) the first head’s up and request “Meatballs”…

 

 

In a large bowl with meat add all of the ingredients. Grated cheese; I use a combination of various cheeses, Locatelli,Parmigiano Reggiano and Pecorino Romano. Take notice I do not add water or milk; the fat of the meat and adequate egg makes a very moist mixture. 3 eggs per pound; my Aunt Ann’s rule, a must. Saltines? Yes. Great filler combined with bread crumbs; I use saltines when making my crab cakes, works well. Breadcrumbs alone …hard meatballs. Wet bread…. meatballs splatter and mixture could get sticky ..ugh! Plus the little bit of salt on the crackers insures there is enough. Yes, the Cheese is a salt factor also; but, when there is not enough salt; meatballs taste flat. Nothing worse. This is my recipe, I also find when combining the mixture; the formation is perfect. A quick mix at first; let the mixture settle a minute or so and absorb . You will notice the mixture is not sticky at all during the second mix. Not even on the bowl; like dough.

Pre-heat pan then add oil and heat oil, so as the meatballs don’t stick. If they are sticking…they are not ready to be turned. The cheese and egg will cause oil to foam, this is fine, but they shouldn’t splatter. I use a fork to lightly lift and turn them; as they brown on all sides(don’t worry if they seem to flatten, as you turn and roll them in the pan they will retain a round shape cooking evenly. A dark coating is best, I can remember Gracie( God Bless) telling me as I proceeded to remove them “Not Yet!” let them brown. You may also notice they will shrink as well. Don’t worry they plump back out in the “Gravy”.

So I hope you enjoy this recipe and I look forward to someone making me “Meatballs”..

Enjoy!

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

13 responses to “Meatballs Mima!

  1. Hello Webmaster, I noticed that https://tastemedrinkme.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/meatballs-mima/ is ranking pretty low for some keywords, this may be due to the new Google Panda update, or it could be due to a variety of other factors. I’m sure you already know about On-page SEO, where Google cares highly about proper formatting of various H1/H2/H3 tags, having your main keyword appear in the beginning of your post and having your post end with the keyword, along with having keyword related alt tags and very relevant LSI. However, you do not seem to have the proper Keywords or relevant Keywords in your posts and in the website. Right now you need a tool or plugin that will allow you to check on Keyword insights, search trends and check for backlink analysis and to find out your Keyword competition. To find a Keyword Plugin that combines both Keyword Research and has the ability as a Rank Checker is what WordPress Seo Keyword, please check out our 5 minute video.

  2. online poker
    Do you know where I can find the best opoker rakeback

  3. I do enjoy the way you have framed this comment..

  4. I do enjoy the way you have framed this particular statement.

  5. you have got an excellent weblog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

  6. you could have an amazing blog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

  7. After I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. Is there any approach you can take away me from that service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

