“Mima!”

From the Mouth of Babes!

Mima''s first baby Girl xoxoxo

Amazing how a simple word can affect you. My daughter; being a woman has preferences on addressing me..Her mood is easily defined by her greeting. “Hello Mother”  intuitively tells me all is copacetic. “Ma” she needs something….. my favorite  “Hi Mommy” knowingly she is overwhelmed with joy. My son has his unique standard “MA”.  Sending a ping on every greeting.

At 45, I had the pleasure of being told I was to be a grandmother. I never imagined myself at that time; a grandmother; and as I shared the news with others, the common “hey Grandma” address was lightly uncomfortable. A reflection of my Nana (older woman, hair tied up in a bun) or any grandma just didn’t feel valid.

Much to my surprise when my first grandchild was beginning to speak; we were at my mom’s, I had been living with her; and the children came for their daily visit. On this particular day while playing with my grand-daughter Julia; she pointed to me and chuckled as she said “Mima!” ” No no”, I replied..there’s your mommy, pointed to my daughter. Julia continued in her laughter repeating “Mima” “Mima” 

 As in most families; my children and I speak on a daily basis. During my daughter’s pregnancy and continuing with the birth of Julia; my phone would ring early each morning. My daughter would say “It’s me Ma” …my response was “put the phone to the baby’s ear and I would speak to her. Of course, the rest is history; I am “Mima”.

 

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 826 other followers

