Please …It’s too hard not to be me!

I knew when I decided to blog I would expose myself to criticism; I can handle it, I’ve paid for all my future sins…lol

 When creating my domain; ‘tastemedrinkme”; no hesitation on my part with my title. Thanks to my parents and siblings I’ve developed quite a strong sense of humour. My Dad always commented, ” Kid, you can get through anything in life with a good backbone and a sense of humour”. Not only was he  “king of ballbusting”, but an avid instructor on life…sorry sibby’s it’s me we’re talking about now! 

Life stories, how I grew to become me. Going back to my charater development; early pre-teen, comes to mind a story which brings a smile to my face, a ping in my heart and definitely an expirience remembered. My Dad out of the blue one day, stirs up a conversation to company; exposing my sensitivity. Truly believing I was his favorite, joined at the hip as he mastered ’round the house projects, always sticking in my two cents to try my idea, so thirsty as I absorbed his knowledge. I went so far as to argue with him for not allowing me to learn his profession. He was a locksmith. One of the best, diligently I wanted to master his trade as well..  realistically had three sons; who followed his trade; I dreamed of a much bigger picture but, that’s another story.

 In reality I wanted to do everything with him, even if I was annoying.  To put me in place and maintain control as the dad; consequences followed. Our home which had a heavy traffic flow; five siblings born within five years(my parents were blessed at first birth with twins, I followed 13 months to the day later) add-on a friend or two for each child….a housefull. Our home at times; his stage, all were the players, family members and guests.

 Probably on a day when I flaunted my feathers, striving for attention as I dealt with middle child syndrome, tides turned. I was very comfortable being the apple of his eye. Well, on this one day in particular, siblings & company at home…. my Dad out of nowhere came out with, ” I can make her cry in five seconds!”  Astonished, whomever the player was; replied, “why would you do that”?  Without hesitation he proceeded with the deed of casting out a personal remark; or moment to forget situation. Immediately transforming me to tiny tears, mostly in 3 seconds flat. Within a minute of my first tear; he then said ” You look beautiful….. even when you cry”.

A momentary hatred for him overwhelmed me as respect transformed me back to his little girl, though somewhat  confused. I can smile now and wish he were still here to humour me; perhaps he is (or I’ll take it that way) in my spirituality. Lesson learned; what takes you down makes you stronger ….

Excited with this new venture and sharing my enthusiasm with my elder sister, (I should have known) she was in total disagreement of the selected  “taste me drink me”.

I’m here.

I’m staying.

It’s too hard not to be me!

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

