Lemon Chicken

This is a favorite; countless times I’ve received repeated requests for this recipe…

On impulse as I learned additional guests were coming for Sunday pasta…. I reminisced to my youth, Sunday dinner at Nana’s. Back in the day when without question the family gathered at Grandmas’. Unlike today; traditions such as Sunday dinner, obsolete. Who is “Overwhelmed ” from a busy week, or “It’s my only day off” and let’s not forget…”Oh! I made other plans”.

In my youth, I so looked forward to a special day with loved ones,  and you never could predict who would “pop-in”. My Nana was always prepared with a tray of lemon chicken…… to extend her buffet .

Let me note at this time feel free to improvise with chicken parts of your choice; as well as skin/skinless/boneless.

I had the pleasure of cooking for Arturo Gatti (RIP) during his training sessions; before a boxing match. He loved this dish and of course preferred skinless, accompanied with a garden salad & fresh veggies … Yummy!

Timing is everything!  This dish can be prepared and cooking while you shower & dress for work; finished when you arrive home ..by the time you settle in,  reheat….. done. I’m an at home for the day person …I prefer quik  prep & slow cooking thru the day finish…..  

8 – 16   chicken thighs

2 -4       chicken breast

1/2 – 1 c  lemon juice

1 – 2  lg sweet onion sliced

fresh basil, garlic, salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to *425

clean chicken with salt water and rinse thoroughly,  place in pan skin down. Pour lemon juice over chicken place in oven approx 15-20 min. I usually wait for the aroma & know it’s time to turn over, continue additional 15 min.

Lower oven temp to *325  if your leaving soon…

or  *275    if  it’s Sunday; or you will be home..

 In either case slice onion and garnish over chicken with remaining ingredients….cook for additional 30-40  minutes on the go/additional hour or so while at home….

I prefer to lightly cover the pan when done (lay foil over the top) so the chicken doesn’t saute. 15 minutes before serving , reheat pan & serve, by the way, I leave my basil on the stem just overlaying the chicken which is easily removed when children who are bothered by “things” are present! LOL    Enjoy !

About tastemedrinkme.com

people person who enjoys sharing lifestories and experiences..... most conversations with friends and family normally starts with "how do you..." I enjoy art;dabble in water color, reading; for relaxation.. cooking; definitely 'chef potential'.. music; abba - zztop ..professinal pastime; hair design...... work at home; which simplifies the art of ' domestic engineering made simple',no cutting corners...just basic how to's.... sharing......

8 responses to “Lemon Chicken

  1. Robert Ortense

    I love this Chicken Dish!

  2. dsoto44@aol.com

    Sounds yummy to me. I’m going to try it.

  3. Fantastic!!! Waiting for more………

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 824 other followers

